Eddy County, ND, has a population of 2,368 people. Its 647 square miles contain the communities of New Rockford (the county seat) and Sheyenne, and the townships of Bush, Cherry Lake, Columbia, Colvin, Eddy, Freeborn, Gates, Grandfield, Hillsdale, Lake Washington, Munster, New Rockford, Paradise, Pleasant Prairie, Rosefield, Sheldon, Superior, and Tiffany. The official newspaper of the county is the New Rockford Transcript.


County History

Eddy County was created by the 1885 territorial legislature from the northern half of Foster County and named for Ezra B. Eddy (1830-1855), a Fargo banker who died a few weeks earlier Government organized: April 27, 1885. The Eddy County Courthouse was built in 1899, and occupied in 1900. County Seat: New Rockford, 1885-present.